Online Reggae Magazine


Articles about reggae music, reviews, interviews, reports and more...

Dub Specialist - Version Dread

Dub Specialist - Version Dread

Dub Specialist - Version Dread

By on - Comment

Rare Studio One B-sides on Version Dread.

Version Dread by Studio OneAbout ten years ago Heartbeat issued a compilation with B-sides taken from Studio One singles. That compilation has been deleted for many years, but has now been reissued by Studio One and Yep Roc Records.

Version Dread comes with a hefty 18 B-sides of rare Studio One singles, and includes versions of classic cuts by the likes of Wailing Souls, Abyssinians and Burning Spear. Also included are two extended mixes – Never Give Version by Carlton and the Shoes and a rare mix of Ernest Ranglin’s Surfing. Neither of these songs were featured on the original LP.

These tracks are in some cases little more than glorious instrumentals of reggae staples and the music is presented with vocals dropping in and out of the mix. But the mixing engineers – label head Clement CoxsoneDodd and Sylvan Morris – have added none or very little effects. The music is what you get. Check excellent cuts like Please Be True Version, a cut of Alexander Henry’s original, or The Brentford Rockers’ version of Cornell Campbell’s Natty Don’t Go.

To call these cuts just versions doesn’t really give them credit for their greatness. These tracks are sublime and timeless instrumentals.

Version Dread was released on September 22th, 2017, and is available from Studio One on LP, CD, and for digital download.


  1. Ernest Wilson & The Sound Dimension – Why Oh Why Version
  2. Sound Dimension – Fire Coal Version
  3. Winston & The New Establishment – Creation Version
  4. Sound Dimension – Please Be True Version
  5. Willie & The Brentford Rockers – Armagideon Version
  6. The Soul Vendors – Born to Dub
  7. Sound Dimension – Pick Up Version
  8. Lloyd Robinson & Brentford Disco Set – It Deep, Pt. 2
  9. Sound Dimension – Version Dread
  10. Sound Dimension – Declaration Version
  11. The Soul Vendors – Things a Come Up to Dub
  12. Sound Dimension – Zion Lion
  13. Cornel & The Brentford Rockers – Natty Rub a Dub
  14. The Heptones & Sound Dimensions – Give Me This Version
  15. The New Establishment – Fire Version
  16. Basil Daley – Hold Me Baby, Pt. 2
  17. Sound Dimension – Train Is Coming, Pt. 2
  18. The New Establishment – New Broom, Pt. 2
  19. Ernest Ranglin & The Sound Dimension – Surfing (Extended Mix)
  20. The New Establishment – Never Give Version (Extended Mix)

Share it!

Send to Kindle
Create an alert

Comments actually desactivated due to too much spams

Recently addedView all

Var - Poor and Needy
27 Sep
Mortimer - Lightning
11 Aug

© 2007-2024 United Reggae. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part is prohibited. Read about copyright

Terms of use | About us | Contact us | Authors | Newsletter | A-Z

United Reggae is a free and independant magazine promoting reggae music and message since 2007. Support us!

Partners: Jammin Reggae Archives | Jamaican Raw Sessions | Vallèia - Lunch & Fresh food | Relier un livre | One One One Wear