Online Reggae Magazine


News about reggae music, artists, culture and more...

The Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards Announced

The Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards Announced

The Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards Announced

By Karl Pearson on Sunday, February 7, 2010 - Comment

A successful evening, despite a late start.

The Excellence in Music and Entertainment (EME) Awards have been announced. It would appear the evening was a great success, despite a late start to the proceedings just as last year, with many artists and guests still lining up to have pictures taken on the red carpet at the scheduled 8pm start time.

Many of the recipients were there to collect their awards and those that could not make it sent representatives to collect their awards and/or thanked the audience via video clips.

There were many performances as well from artistes like Romain Virgo, Wasp, Hezron, Jodian Pantry, Nicky B, Cherine Anderson, Nadine Sutherland, Tami Chynn, Wayne Marshall and Gramps Morgan who also performed a duet with India Arie who jointly won the International Friend of Reggae award, with Melanie Fiona.
All these performances coupled with a late start and it meant the party went on late into the night.

Some of the awards winners were:

Song of the Year - Holiday

Producer of the Year (Reggae) - Donovan Germain

Producer of the Year (Dancehall) - Stephen McGregor

Songwriter/lyricist of the Year - Vybz Kartel

Collaboration of the Year - Holiday (Ding Dong/ Chevaughn)

Recording Artiste of the Year - Vybz Kartel Duo/Group of the Year - Merital

Biggest Comeback Artiste of the Year - Spanner Banner

Breakthru Artiste of the Year - Chino and Jah Vinci

Liv Up Records got compilation of year and dancehall rhythm of the year for Good Life rhythm

Most Improved Artiste of the Year - Flexxx and Tifa

Gospel Artiste of the Year - DJ Nicholas

Reggae Video of the Year - Barbee's Feel So Good

Dancehall video of the year - Busy Signal's One More Night

Show of the year - Shaggy and Friends 2009

Best Original Dance Move of the Year - Skip To My Luu by Ding Dong and Ravers Clavers

Honour awards:

Role model of the year - Denroy Morgan and Toots Hibbert

Best new female artiste - Lisa Hyper

Best new male artiste - G Whizz

Cultural artiste of the year - Tarrus Riley

Album of the year - Gramps Morgan's 2 Sides Of My Heart

International Friend of Reggae Awardees - India Arie and Melanie Fiona

Female vocalist of the year - Cherine Anderson

Male vocalist of the year - Jah Cure

Tags: EME, Awards

Share it!

Send to Kindle
Create an alert

Comments actually desactivated due to too much spams

Recommended News

Mr Money Man Riddim
By Angus Taylor

Recently addedView all

Var - Poor and Needy
27 Sep
Mortimer - Lightning
11 Aug

© 2007-2022 United Reggae. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part is prohibited. Read about copyright

Terms of use | About us | Contact us | Authors | Newsletter | A-Z

United Reggae is a free and independant magazine promoting reggae music and message since 2007. Support us!

Partners: Jammin Reggae Archives | Jamaican Raw Sessions | Vallèia - Lunch & Fresh food | Relier un livre | One One One Wear