Online Reggae Magazine


News about reggae music, artists, culture and more...

Prince Jammy Presents Strictly Dub

Prince Jammy Presents Strictly Dub

Prince Jammy Presents Strictly Dub

By Karl Pearson on Monday, March 15, 2010 - 1 comment

Obscure early eighties dub album & singles set for Pressure Sounds release.


Prince Jammy Presents Strictly DubHot on the tails of the Japanese 7inch vinyl releases from, Pressure Sounds have announced that they will be releasing the obscure Prince Jammy dub album 'Prince Jammy Presents Strictly Dub' on 12th April 2010, on single CD and Vinyl Album format.

The album briefly surfaced in New York in the early eighties on the ‘Jammys Records’ label and it has been said that many regard this album as "a minor masterpiece of Jammy’s mixing style and an early demonstration of his masterful production techniques."

It was recorded with some of Kingston’s best session players of the day and proved to be an early indication of the beginning of a new musical era created, paradoxically, by referring back to the classic rhythms of the sixties and seventies.
Sly & Robbie provide the backbone of the set with the trumpet of Bobby Ellis and the alto saxophone of ‘Deadly’ Hedley Bennett coming to the fore on tracks such as ‘Old Country Road Dub’ and ‘271 Utica Dub’.
Many classic rock steady and reggae rhythms feature including ‘Baba Boom’ and ‘Ali Baba’ from Treasure Isle, ‘Always Together’ from Studio One and the Baba Brooks ska classic ‘Shank I Sheck’ for King Edwards, with a sprinkling of original rhythms including one of Jammy’s early roots masterpieces: the apocalyptic ‘Jah Fire Will Be Burning’ from Hugh Mundell.
The CD version comes with bonus tracks; the spare and lean re-cuts of two more Studio One classics: Jackie Mittoo’s ‘Hot Milk’ and Lester Sterling’s interpretation of Bert Kaempfert’s ‘Afrikaan Beat’, both however date from a slightly later period.

Pressure Sounds will also be releasing three 7inch heavyweight vinyl releases, with cardboard custom printed sleeves, from Jammy. The first to be released are Attaras 'Brimstone And Fire' c/w 'Cool Fire Version' and Freddie McKay's 'Rock A Bye Woman' c/w 'Rock A Bye Version' to be released on 21st March 2010. This will then be followed by Wayne Smith 'Time Is A Moment In Space' c/w 'Dub Is A Moment In Space' in early April.

Read more about this topic

Share it!

Send to Kindle
Create an alert

Read comments (1)

Posted by Camille on 03.15.2010
This is JAMMY time ! reissue 10 Jammy produced singles, Greensleeves releases a JAMMY compilation called JAMMY'S FROM THE ROOTS and Pressure Sounds reissue this album !

Comments actually desactivated due to too much spams

Recommended News

Mr Money Man Riddim
By Angus Taylor

Recently addedView all

Var - Poor and Needy
27 Sep
Mortimer - Lightning
11 Aug

© 2007-2024 United Reggae. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part is prohibited. Read about copyright

Terms of use | About us | Contact us | Authors | Newsletter | A-Z

United Reggae is a free and independant magazine promoting reggae music and message since 2007. Support us!

Partners: Jammin Reggae Archives | Jamaican Raw Sessions | Vallèia - Lunch & Fresh food | Relier un livre | One One One Wear